Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport,

while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both

views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of physical strength or mental strength is important for success in sport have been received a great deal of public attention. Although mental strength is necessary for accomplishment in sport, I believe physical strength will be far more significant.

On the one hand, there are many reasons for people to consider mental strength as a critical part of the success of the sport. First, when people foster a competitive spirit, they will do everything to their ambitions. For example, a person with a win-at-all-costs attitude, he will practice more, eat more healthy food, which helps to boost his physical strength and as a result, he will get his goal in sport. Second, mental strength will help people be stronger after failure, which stimulate them to work more and more so that they can get their aim next time. For instance, Micheal Jordan - a man often lauded as the best basketball player of all time, was actually cut from his high school basketball team, due to strong mental, he worked harder and finally became a celebrity.

On the other hand, I believe physical strength is a decisive factor of success in sport. Because it seems that impossible to get achievement in the sport if people don’t have physical health. For example, to achieve a goal, people need to practice for hours that people physically weak can’t do. Furthermore, all athletes would get hurt from playing sports, which needs rapid recovery from physical strength to continue playing and practice in a short time. In fact, when getting injuries in practice, stronger people will recover quickly than weak people, which will give them more time to practice and get success.

In conclusion, although both mental and physical strength has a crucial part in the success of athletes, I believe physical will be more necessary than mental.