Some people think planning future is a waste of time and people should focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether we should focus on the present or spend time and energy on planning for the future. In my opinion, both kinds of planning play important roles in making life better.

On the one hand, we can not deny the importance of planning for the future. To be more specific, if we have detailed and effective plans for our future, we have the motivation of following these steps to reach our goals. Whenever we complete one more stage of the plans which we designed before, we know exactly where we are and what we lack so that we can improve ourselves every day and prepare better for the next stages. For example, my neighbor who decides to become a sale manager in the next two years has made detailed arrangements for all her jobs so that she can gain knowledge as well as experience to fit the criteria of her intended situation. Besides, with a wise plan for the future, we can avoid facing disaster because when we get older and get married, we have to take care of the whole family, pay bills and expenses. Money can be an serious problem if one in the family catchs rare disease and has to have an operation that costs a fortune. So, at that time, unless we plan to earn and save enough money before it happens, the situation would be out of control.

On the other hand, living for the moment is crucial for all of us to have happiness in this stressful life. Enjoying the present, for example, going to the cafeteria with our close-knit soulmates to tell them our problems or playing with our children on the weekend is the real meaning of life. Lots of people spend all their time working hard to get rich and give their children cash to buy new clothes and new toys, yet those teenagers feel angry at their parents thanks to a lack of care. Additionally, we are all human, so always focusing on the future as a machine follows its program is impossible. Taking a break before going back to work is essential.

Eventually, I think planning the future as well as enjoying the moment have their own importance.