Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, it is apparent that e-commerce has gained significant ubiquity due to its convenience and exponential abundance in terms of products and price range. Although possible dangers may lurk beneath this new way of shopping, from my perspective, its benefits overshadow the drawbacks it has.

On the one hand, online shopping is more reasonably priced. One prominent justification for this is that a host of coupons and lower-price codes, including Chrome extensions like Honey, are now integrated into popular websites like eBay or Amazon, which can help buyers to save up a notable amount of money. Moreover, online shop owners don’t have to pay additional fees for property renting like their traditional store counterparts; thus, their product prices are more likely to be reduced. Another perk of e-commerce that is worth considering is that the shoppers' decisions are more independent. Take in-store shopping as example, there are some cases where store representatives follow shoppers around to provide product guidance for them. This can have some level of annoyance for buyers and affect their decisions in terms of choosing and buying products, whereas online shopping gives people total freedom to do so.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that online shopping receives several rebukes from people for its common fraud and scam incidents. This is hard to avoid since the Internet is where people rarely have a chance to use their senses to decide whether a product is worth buying or not; therefore, many scammers take advantage of this and sell unwanted merchandise.

To recapitulate, e-commerce can be deceptive and frauds may happen, nevertheless, people can be more financially benefited from it and save up a significant amount of time. Therefore, the advantages of online shopping outweigh its downsides.