Some people think rich countries should help the poor countries by giving money directly. Others believe that there are other more effective forms of international aids. What’s your opinion?

Nowadays, whether financial aid is the most effective and direct way for rich countries to help the developing countries or not remains a controversial issue. I think there exist better ways of international aids.

First, in my opinion, it is technology instead of money that stimulates a country’s development. This is because technology can open another world for people and provide them with overall information of the world, thus boosting the progress of social civilization, which cannot be achieved simply by money. Moreover, the development of technology can create new job opportunities, reducing the unemployment rate and propelling economic development. Therefore, it is more effective and long-sighted to offer technology support rather than financial aids.

Moreover, it is risky to simply and directly give money to the government of developing countries because on one will ever know where the government is going to spend the money. This is due to the fact that different power has different development strategies. For example, some governments may invest more money to build armies and increase its national defense capability, which is against the original purpose of financial aids to help the citizens in developing countries and improve the economic condition. Thus, financial aid should not be considered the best way of international aid because its power and effect cannot be ensured.

However, that is not to say we should neglect the power of financial aids. Indeed, under certain circumstances such as severe natural disaster, money is the most direct and effective form to offer help. Nevertheless, in most situations, there are still other better ways to offer aids to developing countries.

In summary, financial aid is not the best way to help for its short-sightedness and uncertainty. Only through a proper combination of various forms of aids and wise choices under different circumstances can we balance the economic status and assure a better world.