Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believe that schools should reward students who show the best academic result. However, others claim that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. As far as I am concerned, I am in favor of the latter viewpoint. And my reasons will be give out in this essay.

First of all, it can be said with certainty that this could give equal chances for every students to receive awards, rather than only focus on the highest achievers. The key explanation is possibly because instead of feeling disappointed when competing with their top classmates, students only just try their best to improve result. In addition, this could be encouraged to put their effort into studying for the highest scores as they can.

Second of all, a special consideration in this case is that pressure, anxiety and cheating would be reduced. The main basis is probably because it is not a highly competitive environment so student just make every effort to show improvements. They will not be disappointed when their results are not recognized due to the another highest achievers.

In contrast, it must be admitted that rewarding students with the highest scores is advantaged. By adopting this approach, gifted students who are outstanding could be given opportunities to nurture their abilities. My secondary school, for instance, selects students with the best results for extra classes to develop their capabilities in order to take them to nation competitions.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thoughts to what extent this issue should be supported. However, the discussion are convincing enough to lead me to the conclusion that it is better to give encouragement to those who have improved their level of academic performance.