Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that people have different views about which type of students should be rewarded by schools. While many people believe that only students who have good academic results deserve to be honored with rewards, I also argue that all students who show their efforts in their studies should have equal chances to be rewarded.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why schools need to reward students who show outstanding academic performance. Firstly, doing so could create a highly competitive studying environment in which students would feel more motivated to try hard to get a higher score. For example, many schools have monthly final tests to examine their students’ academic ability and give presents to students who have the best results. The implication of this is that students would have more encouragement to apply themselves in their studies. Secondly, through selecting and rewarding top students, teachers could easily find excellent students and have special training for them. This would help these students to nurture and develop their academic skills and they could take many contests on a national scale, for example.

On the other hand, I personally believe that it is more necessary for all students showing their improvements in the learning process to receive incentives for their hard-work. First, because of being rewarded, students, regardless of their academic backgrounds, could have more motivation to study harder if their efforts are recognized. For example, teachers should pay a compliment for their students who progress in their studies to show their recognition for these students’ improvements, which could give rise to further betterment. By contrast, if only the best students receive rewards, other students might feel disappointed which would negatively affect their interest in studying.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable for students who are excellent in their academic learning I think that schools should give a chance for all students to be rewarded to facilitate students’ improvements.