Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In terms of children’s education, in each country, many problems need to be considered carefully to create the best education system for the young generation. The question of whether students should attend culinary courses or not leads to different opinions. While some people suppose that such lessons about food are good for children, others think schools should focus on teaching other important subjects.

On the one hand, two main reasons should be mentioned to explain why some people support the idea of teaching children about food and cooking. Firstly, it is a good chance for students to acknowledge some fundamental information about the food and eating portion so that they know what they should consume every day to ensure better physical and mental development. Indeed, children rarely care about the pros and cons of what they eat, they just eat too much of what they are really into, regularly, which are high sugar such as candy, snacks. This increases the number of children being obese or having decayed teeth. Therefore, when being educated well about the function of each kind of food, children are likely to eat in a more moderated portion. Secondly, it also creates a practical environment for children to enhance life experience which is useful for them when growing up. It makes sense that when they have an independent life, they can take care of themselves and do not have to lie to their parents anymore. Moreover, eating homemade food is also better and cheaper than eating out so it helps them to save money as well.

On the other hand, other people argue that students should spend time learning more important subjects likely because of two reasons. Firstly, scientific subjects like Maths, Physics, Chemistry, and foreign language subjects are useful for them to work or study higher education in the future. For instance, when students want to enroll in a Technology University, they have to pass an exam in Maths, Physics, and Chemistry which require a lot of time and effort to learn during school years. For another example, due to globalization, it is undeniable that workers with competent English skills can get a job with a handsome salary therefore, children should learn English at an early age to adapt to the labor market in the future. Secondly, instead of learning about food at school, students can learn at home from their parents and this helps parents save money paid for this subject’s tuition fee. Moreover, when teaching children to cook at home, parents have a chance to talk and make the relationship with kids more close-knit.

In conclusion, while some advocate prioritizing traditional school curriculums based on academic subjects, I believe imparting knowledge of nutrition and food preparation generates a great sense of independence and develops healthy eating habits for graduates. Thus, courses about food should be added to the school curriculum.