Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference.

For ages, global climate change, a popular topic, has been discussed not only by governments but their people as well. Thanks to the media, people today have deeper understanding and better evaluation of this issue. While many regard the problem as the governments and large businesses' responsibility only, others believe that to help prevent global climate change, individuals' role should be counted.

Firstly, global climate change is believed to be the result of greenhouse effect, which mainly relates to human activities destructing environment such as polluting the air, cutting down trees and so on. It is undoubted that governments and large organizations play an important role in the fight against the change. There have been a lot of international forums and seminars organized among nations or organizations to search for the possible solutions to the change. This is important because they can make the agreement among those nations as well as provide supports to the countries in need. Secondly, many countries are on their way to complete or revise their law to minimize bad effects on environment from industrialization and modernization. Domestic and overseas corporations,therefore, must pay attention to their businesses in order not to violate the law.

On the other hand, those, who have been suffering the consequences of the climate change, are doing their utmost to minimize the loss and improve the situation. For instance, acknowledging and experiencing extreme weather patterns affecting farmers’ crop, farmers turn to develop organic farming. This will help reduce air and soil pollution level. Furthermore, many environmentalists, scientists and volunteer groups have proved their vital role in protecting and improving environment to the world. Not only can they make an impact on policies on the issue but they can also join in activities to relieve the situation. Bit by bit, individuals are contributing to reducing pollution, which partly slow down the climate change and gradually reverse it.

In conclusion, while governments and large businesses play a major part in dealing with the global climate change, individuals’ role is undeniable. As for me, governments should raise public awareness of the issue and promote individuals’ ability so that people will be able to contribute more in this fight.