Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, peace and order has been affected by the significant rise of noise pollution which can affect urban settlers’ daily lives and there are those who are of the belief that laws should be enacted to prevent these noise disturbances. However, there are those who think that the laws would be insufficient to control the issue.

Those who subscribe to the view that a strict implementation of a law against noise pollution think that this can help a person to live in peace and harmony. People who work on different shift are given the right to have a good and sound sleep without worrying on getting startled in the middle of their sleep due to the banging of the noises. In addition, policies on controlling the volume of the noise produced can minimize problems with public disturbances due to the settlers being undisciplined in the streets. For instance, urban places are prone to meaningless production of noises brought about by independent groups of riders who like showing off their upgraded cars with large speakers for music and entertainment thus jeopardizing peace and order.

However, there are those who think laws alone are not enough to solve the ongoing problem with noise in the long run. The laws require a pool of manpower to patrol over the streets that are prone to such public hiatus which entails a huge sum of financial support that are supposedly equated to other problems aside from noise. Furthermore, town festivals and other cultural events may be affected as the implementation of the laws can prohibit the organizers to go all out with providing entertaining programs. If the policies limit the people from having to enjoy in situations such as these, the urban community would suffer as the essence of cultural celebrations may cease to exist.

As a whole, policies on reducing noise pollution may be of help for working individuals and for those who are after public safety. However, such laws can be financially unattainable on a long term basis and can affect cultural celebrations.