Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of whether the course

For a long time It has been argued that, what is the main function of universities? Some people believe that universities must prepare alumnus by teaching them courses that would help them in their future careers, others think that it has to be up to them to decide which subjects they want to study. Although studying what they like has positive effects on them, I think studying materials that correlate with business sector is much more beneficial.

On the one hand, universities must provide students with knowledge and skills for the workplace. This would offer them the chance to get a job and live a welfare life. As most of the HR management always look for employees with work-skills to hire them than others. Also, it will contribute in raising the productivity of a country if the majority of its employees are skilled. For example, universities in Japan focus on familiarize their students with technological courses and that make it one of the best countries in the field of technology.

On the other hand, some people believe that universities should give students the right to chose their courses even if it does not match the need of labor market. That might make them happy to study what they like music or arts. They think that it would prepare them to construct the foundation for future careers as a singer or ab artist. However, that is not always the case in which a huge number of them will not success because the reality is different. They need a capital to start their career so it is much more better for them to take courses that will enable them to a job and then they can start working in whatever they want beside their basic jobs.

In conclusion, the main purpose of universities is to educate graduates the knowledge and the skills that are required in the labor market, therefore, they can get a job and live a comfortable life.