Some people think universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities from the cradle of time were the source of knowledge and wisdom. The people attend

college to gain the enough information and skills to be able to use it in the real life, whether to

understand the life or to solve problems they face. Providing knowledge aout outdated science or

unapplicable theories is without doubt very wrong. This essay will discuss this idea further, and also

will present the impact of preparing the graduates for the work.

Choosing the materials provided in the college should be done by experts to avoid any useless sciences.

Having to study outdated theorems or unapplicable theories could hinder the educational progress of

the students. For the first, I remember one of my friends suffered from an ancient course, where he has

to spend a full term studying the early theories and rules. For the later reason, the early man was

interested to learn about the world in order to know how to achieve his needs easier, so what good is a

science that no one can apply?. The next paragraph will discuss how it could affect our lives greatly.

Preparing graduates to be more useful for their country is an important matter. The economy in most

developed countries depends on the available work force and how productive and skillful are they. On

the other side, the lack of brilliant minds could leads to importing foreigners to close the gap between

the offered and the demanded which will cause more loss and increase the spendings.

To sum up, The education institutes main role were and still to prepare their students to face the world

and gain new skills to approach real problems. In my opinion, Focusing on transforming the studets

into efficient employees in the workplace should be their top priority.