Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of universities should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful for an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of universities?

An increasing number of individuals are concern about the goals of education university. Whether they should mainly focus on job-related abilities or pure knowledge has sparked intensely heated debate. Practical skills, in my judgment, should be prioritized in the education of colleges.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that for most students, the purpose of deriving a university education is to obtain specific knowledge and skills, which will enable them to become competent employees for the workforce of the future. This is because most of them, after graduation, will enter the workplace, earn their living, and raise their own families. Consequently, as service providers, universities have to give top priority to the genuine demands of these consumers.

Equally importantly, focusing on job-related skills can benefit the university itself. For example, the science-fiction blockbuster "Avatar" has marked a milestone in the filmmaking industry and sparked massive interest in 3-D technology. If a university can quickly respond and consolidate teaching resources to offer courses regarding 3-D, not only will its graduates be more competitive in the near future, but the university itself will keep pace with the modern technological development and move forward.

However, It is not that I am against university paying any attention to pure scientific research. There are, of course, students interested in theoretical knowledge such as math and philosophy, and they will later become scientists and scholars who will make greater contributions to our society. But unfortunately, these people are few.

Ultimately though, the major function of universities should be providing students with job-related skills, guaranteeing a high rate of employment, and thus making the society function well. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can universities maintain dynamic and sustainable development.