Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to the knowledge for its own sake, regardless whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In some extent people believe that universities should be functioned in a search way that it can generate graduates having knowledge and skills that will be required and give them upper hand at their work place while others people think that giving access to knowledge for its own betterment is more important than the usefulness of these courses for an employee. However, in my opinion providing relevant knowledge and expertise should be main function of University to its graduate.

relevant knowledge that can be implemented in a working life can boost someone confidence in their respective job fields. if anyone already has some skills skill set, it will be easier for him to do better all the tasks he will be assigned for. Moreover, he will be able to complete these works efficiently which will broaden his institution's fame as well as his university name. For instance, CEO of google Shundor Pichai was an IIT graduate. Who was given extra chance by their department for learning programming. Thus he took chances and made him topped that brought fame for IIT too. What if he would a graduate from arts college? It would be tough for him to reach at his present condition. There are lot of example who is doing better in work place having knowledge and skill relevant to his education. Thus, University courses should be designed on such way that can accelerate someone excellence in his future career.

On the other hand, if function of a university is designed for only its own sake over the usefulness of a job it would bring enormous jobless young graduates. As most of the companies, institutions prefer employer having experience or relevant strong knowledge. Thus their may occur a unpleasant situation in overall system. For instance, if thousands of graduates are made every year it is impossible for the university to manage position for all of them. In the mean time, they will struggle to manage job at somewhere else having lack of knowledge and skills. So, this function for a university for its graduates will not be an appropriate one in my opinion.

To conclude, to run at the same pace with fast moving world a university should provide relevant knowledge and skills Through their curriculumn to its graduates thus they can conquer their job place using their previous experiences what they gathered from their respective University.