Some people think that universities should provide knowldege and skills to improve workforce whereas other think that universities should teach academically regardless of the course.Discuss both views

Whether universities should provide basic knowledge to the students or impart information regarding the specific field is a debatable issue. Some people believe that universities should teach academically to the students so they can themselves choose later what they want to pursue whereas others think that it is wise to teach them the skills and education they need regarding their vocation.

On one hand, teaching basic and general subjects to the students would increase their intellect as a whole, and it will help them decide what subjects they are interested in. Furthermore, most of the students are initially unaware of their future career, so getting basic knowledge would aid them in all domains. For instance, doctors during their university life are bound to learn about laws in physics which aparentally seems purposeless, but they do encounter scenarios related to physics laws in their practical life. Thus, it is wise to make students learn about general things regardless of their course.

On the other hand, imparting knowledge and skills particular to the their workforce is more beneficial because it saves the extra time they spend in attaining the additional information. This time can be spent in polishing the required skills and adding on their required knowledge. For example, in the U.K a student has to complete three years of college attaining the general education before pursuing their law profession which is considered useless. Hence, such a practice is mere waste of time.

To conclude, although attaining general education in the university seems waste of time apparently, it is beneficail in longterm.