Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent you agree?

Some people believe that when a person goes to a foreign country, they should follow practices and customs of that country. In my opinion, one should not try to follow foreign culture or one’s own culture blindly. Rather / instead one should adopt the best of both cultures.

When people stay in a foreign country, they should adapt to some of the customs and rituals of that country. There are two reasons for this. Firstly, it is not possible to live in a foreign country completely isolated from foreign people. Outsiders always require some kind of help and support from native people in order to live in a foreign country successfully. Secondly, natives feel happier when they see outsiders adopting some of the customs and practices of locals into their life. This enables foreigners to have a good career and pleasant life in another country. For example, native people feel happy when foreigners greet them according to their style.

On the other hand, it is important for outsiders to practice some of the customs and practices of their own country. It is not possible for them to completely forget their own culture. Celebrating certain festivals of their own country will provide them happiness and deep contentment. They can organise social gatherings with people of their own country. These kinds of activities help them to overcome homesickness and loneliness.

In conclusion, when people move to another country it is not necessary to completely follow practices of that country. Outsiders should adopt some aspects of the foreign culture and at the same time they should not forget the best of their culture.