Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary life, many a person supposes that all wild animals do not need to be kept in zoos whereas others think that zoos have some good reasons for their existence. From my perspective, wild animals deserve to have a life in their own habitats instead of being kept in captivity.

To begin with, there are some functions of zoos accounting for their existence in our community. To save endangered animals’ lives is the first reason for their appearance; to be specific, the natural habits of some animals such as pandas, tigers, and so on are devastated by human activities. Since humans’ activities are a main culprit of losing biodiversity via destroying the environment of wild animals. Thus, humans just have one useful and realistic method to save their lives is that endangered animals are kept in cages called zoos. Furthermore, zoos have an elite mission that they assist people in broadening their horizon vis-a-vis wild lives. For instance, children have a favorable opportunity to learn and see marvelous terrestrial creatures except humans in their life and they may observe their activities that they never have had a chance to do before. Therefore,.zoos may have a role in saving wild animals’ lives as well as teaching our offspring about them.

On the other hand, although zoos have several benefits, wild animals are needed to live in their own environment. Without a doubt, wild animals’ habitats are the best place for animals in that they find it appropriate to live, regenerate and develop their species. For example, eagles have their own territory for them and their partners in the wilderness; however, when being kept in cages, they may live under plenty of stress that can kill them. To tackle environmental devastation, humans ought to have some prompt actions such as creating new friendly fuel or material not harmful to the environment or imposing new laws against poaching and animal smuggling. Above all, only when animals have a chance to live in their environment, will their species be well-developed.

To sum up, the maintenance of zoos may bring several visual benefits for humans; nevertheless, animals are akin to humans in that they need to live in their habitats where they feel like an oasis.