Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary life, with the rise in globalization, the competition between the modern and the culture is harder and harder. Many a person reckons that thanks to the growth and quick expansion of supermarkets in some nations leads to the doom of small local businesses. From my perspective, the small local businesses get a chance to develop not only their products but also their performance and they must not squander this chance.

Besides the local markets, the supermarkets are playing a crucial role in distributing the necessary goods for the community. The small local companies absolutely may face more and more difficult situations to compete with their virals. All big companies possess state of the art technology to increase not only their productivity but also the quality of their goods. They find it easy to fulfill the requirements of the supermarkets to sell their products, which the local enterprises cannot meet. Furthermore, customers tend to use the products from big and famous companies instead of the small local businesses’ products. Thus, the small local businesses are not able to compete with big enterprises in their niche market.

To come up with the solution of these hard situations, small local businesses must change their operation and outcoming products. For instance, they are able to ensure the quality of their goods by using and applying the international quality certification such as ISO 9001 for operation, HACCP for food productions, and so forth. All these certifications assist them in spreading their products like wildfire to their potential customers, besides, they can easily fulfill all the standard requirements from any supermarkets. Furthermore, their manufacturers have to be invested to purchase new leading edge machines to increase their efficiency. This means that they totally have an ability to adapt themselves to contribute their goods whenever the need of the market rises. Above all, changing and investing in the small local companies are necessary to give them a hand to go over those situations.

In conclusion, competition and the standard of qualification are a big chance for small local enterprises to develop their products and adapt themselves to the constantly changing of their niche market.