Some people think that the world should have one government rather than national governments. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are some ideas that instead of the world's countries with particular governments, it will be better to establish a world government. While this view can be advantageous to a certain extent, I believe that its disadvantages are much more significant.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that some benefits can be realized if the world is operated under the same government system. One of them is that it could encourage member countries to contribute collectively to solve common problems. For example, climate change is always an international issue that causes concern for most nations. However, each country has different abilities of resources, finance, as well as, uses distinctive methods to deal with the problems, which makes this issue more serious for undeveloped states. Therefore, a global government would help to address this condition consistently when they can share their experiences and technology in other areas. Additionally, it could potentially remove existing conflicts between nations. Clearly, regional and political alliances would be dissolved, and everyone would work for a common good, which would end up the wars among countries.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the limitations of global governance are greater than the above advantages. To begin with, it will be very difficult for one government to adequately address the needs of every person worldwide, as well as, to control well the whole system. Whatever how hard the leaders of this new government try, they also could not manage universally every problem in a wide earth with six continents. For instance, corruption is now an alarming situation for any countries, which will become harder to keep in check if it has only a government, and the bureaucracy can be increasingly serious. A part from this advantage, there may be a loss of individual cultural identities because of homogenization, especially relating to language. Each nation has different languages and customs, creating a diversity of cultural traditions and showing the unique features among regions. The combination of national governments can make these traditions disappear as if the residents forget slowly their origin.

In conclusion, the system of a global governance also brings some particular benefits, I still argue that its downsides are superior to the efficient aspects.