The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, to ensure transport safety, many countries in the world have imposed rigorous punishments on drivers having mistakes. It is clear that this method is actually necessary, but it is certainly the only way to enhance road safety while some other measures are also very useful.

On the one hand, the effectiveness of retribution is undeniable. The major reason for this efficiency is that most people have a common awareness of the fear and the anxiety when they must face the punishments relating to the laws. In fact, depending on the serious levels of violations, various forms will be offered to punish individuals. The simplest is compulsory retribution for money such as the drivers taking part in traffic with a higher speech than regulations or without wearing a helmet. Besides, some serious accidents that cause losses about the health and the wealth of other people even can suffer the criminal responsibilities. All are forced the drivers to be more careful when participating in road traffic.

On the other hand, apart from harsh penalties that are published by governments, there are also some additional measures to improve road safety more effectively. To begin with, local authorities should install a system of tracking cameras across all the roads. Today, it can be seen easily that a lot of areas of many nations are adopted this effective equipment, especially in large cities, which will bring the drivers perception of the need to adhere to speech limits. Additionally, the investment and the construction of the road infrastructure is a long-term method to minimize traffic accidents. Clearly, a lot of accidents have occurred because of the deterioration of the road system with limited and outdated scale. Therefore, expanding and updating the facilities certainly will contribute to ensuring a stable transporting mechanism.

In conclusion, while harsh penalties will be advantageous to a certain extent, I believe that only this method is still not enough to solve the problem of road safety. It needs to be accompanied by other reasonable solutions.