Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

There is frequently an expectation placed on all young adults to engage in unpaid service to benefit others in their community as responsible members of a progressive society. Although this tendency has some certain drawbacks, I believe that the benefits are more significant.

On the one hand, the disadvantages of this mostly revolve around how much time a young adult would devote to helping others. The time is very useful for those seeking to enhance their current skills, learn updated skills, enhance their academic qualifications. Then, they can apply for positions that are highly in demand. Youth is also a period of time when youngsters can enjoy themselves without being burdened by responsibilities. Spending the limited time they have helping the community would steal from them the sweetest and most joyful period of youth.

Despite certain disadvantages mentioned above, I would argue that doing charity work has more advantages. First, young people can become the leaders and innovators of tomorrow. For example, after doing a huge amount of volunteer work she can now confidently stand in the hall to make a presentation. She is with roughly 500 people. The second benefit is that they can learn new values from their lives without money. They will learn to empathize with each other, be sensitive to each other’s needs and make choices that benefit one and all. This will also improve the quality of life and reduce crime.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the advantages of taking part in volunteer work without paying money outweigh the negative effects that it has.