Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving. Discuss both statements and give your own opinion?

It is sometimes argued that the traditions of society are crucial to the cultivation of well-adjusted adults. However, I would side with those who argue that greater autonomy better nurtures creativity.

On the one hand, social traditions educate younger people as to have appropriate manners and morals. This case is exemplified perfectly in the case of Vietnamese customs and habits. Traditionally minded Vietnamese parents instill in their children the value of bowing to their seniors, displaying their deep respect and appreciation. Similarly, teens are raised to be reliable and generous, not capitalizing on the misfortunes of others for their own advantages. These traditional practices stimulate young Vietnamese’s global reputation for being professional and cooperative, which facilitates chances for both friendships and business collaborations.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that freedom of choice fosters creativity and its concomitant results in innovation. For instance, many Japanese parents encourage their offspring to design and wear their own outfits instead of accepting those generally worn by older generations. This has resulted in many pushing traditional boundaries, mingling unique costumes and aesthetics inspired by their favorite anime characters, which is known as “costume play” in Japan. Nowadays, the hobby has evolved into a global cultural phenomenon and inspired modern fashion designs and performances both on and off stage. Such an innovative culture might have been inadvertently stymied if all Japanese youngsters rigidly followed the tradition of wearing formal Kimonos and Yukatas.

In conclusion, although traditional standards of behavior are of importance to some extent, teenagers should be free to shape their own lifestyles. In my opinion, governments and schools ought to incentivize more platforms for youngsters to present and discuss novel ideas that can make positive contributions to society.