Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving. Discuss both statements and give your own opinion?

People of different societies have various sets of cultural norms. Some argue youngsters should chase traditional culture. However, I am more inclined toward the idea that youth should be allowed to follow their own instinct independently. This essay will highlight both the given statements.

It is argued that social traditions educate youngsters to have manners, morals, and values. Vietnamese’s customs and habits are exemplified perfectly for this. Traditionally, minded Vietnamese parents instill in their children a sense of respect for seniors. At a very young age, they had learned the value of bowing to the elderly, displaying their profound regards and appreciation. In addition, teens are raised to become well-adjusted adults and sympathize with fated people in society. These traditional practices stimulate Vietnamese’s global reputation for being professional behavior, which facilitates the chance of collaborations across the world.

Despite these benefits of following traditional societies given above, I am in favor of the opinion that freedom of choice fosters personal development. In the era of globalization, some old traditional societies are often outdated, obsolete, and are no longer appropriate to the modern community. Out-of-date customs limit physical and mental growth, which keeps them in poverty and narrows their opportunities. Teenage girls in mountainous areas, as an example, are forced to marry early to pay the family’s debts. These marriages are usually unhappy endings, which means they have a tendency to get divorced later on, having a huge impact on well-being.

In conclusion, while traditional standards are beneficial to youth’s behavior regarding virtues, teenagers should be free to shape their own lifestyles. In my opinion, traditional society should adjust to be suitable for the modern community, whereby creat prospects for juveniles being independent to explore whatever they want, therefore, contribute more value for society.