Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving. Discuss both statements and give your own opinion?

People have different views about how much choice students should have with regard to compulsory subjects or elective subjects. While some argue that universities should solely provide essential courses that are helpful in the future, I am in favor of the idea that everyone has the right to study what they desire to.

There are various reasons why people believe that university should merely offer necessary subjects that are of use in the future. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these subjects provide the chance of employments, high salaries, and therefore an enhanced quality of life for students who take them. On societal position, by forcing them to choose science-related subjects, governments can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps fulfill. Finally, putting a great emphasis on technology-based courses leads to new inventions for humankind, and future prosperity.

In spite of these arguments, I believe that students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. If people passionate about what they are learning, they will devote their time and energy to pursue the knowledge, as a result, they create a numbẻ of achievements in diverse domains. For instance, Leonardo devoted his life to contemporary arts, and he had some gorgeous paintings that people admire. Especially Monilisa-the painting has still remained its value so far. Besides, nobody can predict which areas of study will predominate over the other ones. In the changing world to adapt, it may be that employers begin to value people that contribute to art areas rather than technology ones.

In conclusion, although some universally acknowledge that university should only focus on useful subjects, I personally prefer self-elective courses for study what they are fond of.