Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that animal captivity, especially zoo, is inappropriate place to keep animals. Even tough some people believe that it could possibly be beneficial for the animals which are kept in zoo, others think that it would be disadvantages for the animals itself. This topic is debatable, and this essay will discuss both sides also provides a conclusion at the end.

To start with, those who accept this idea believe that zoos are proper place to preserve wild animals, especially the endanger one. It can be seen that in several of zoo in Indonesia conserves lots of endangered animals. By this, it means that the animals would be cared by zookeepers in order to maintain the animals’ life span. In particular, endanger species such as tiger, elephant and rhino are often saw in the zoo. Furthermore, proponents believe that the presence of zoos could possible benefit the children. In order that adolescence will learn about wild animal so that they would be able to preserve the endangered animal in the future.

Looking to opponents’ perspective, some wild animals require suitable place for living. It means that the condition in zoo cannot support the animals to maintain their life. Reportedly, the wild animal activist believes that the animals in zoo are easier to be stressed inasmuch as some wildlife requires wide space for hunting, such as tiger and lion. Meanwhile, in the zoo, animals are kept in small cage. In Addition, the possibility for animals being neglected is higher. The animals in the zoo tend to be saw as display. It means that wild animals in the zoo are considered for entertaining purpose only.

To conclude, I believe that keeping animals in zoo has drawbacks due to getting stress and being neglected. Wild animals should be placed in wildlife reserve since it is a wide place and has similar condition to wild habitat.