Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While in the past people have no choice except communicating each other face to face, today because of invention of internet they are able to discuss about a project or subject by sending an e-mail without seeing each other. I think that having real meeting could be more beneficial because of some reasons.

Firstly, speaking face to face would progress the project better rather than by e-mail since words cannot transfer all meanings. An important part of communicating is body language which is totally overlooked when you say your opinions by internet. For instance, writing sentences would not transfer the emotions beyond the words like when you are angry of your colleague's idea about the project.

Secondly, it would be more time-consuming process and consequently results in an unfortunate delay in project delivery. Students are not always online to read and answer e-mails immediately, and even if they were, more time should be spent writing rather than talking. So it is beneficial for the project programming and schedule to communicate in person.

But also there is advantages for using mails and other internet-based facilities. For example, in the occasion of being far away from each other, project team members could progress the project and reach a consensus without travelling long distances and charging a vast amount of money.

In conclusion, although there are positive incomes through using a modern method of communicating like electronic mail, I personally believe that still running a project through physical meetings and in person discussions would be more effective because of the significant effect of watching the acts when someone is presenting his/her idea in understanding the conception and meanings, and decreasing in the time of the project by the time saved by choosing to speak instead of writing long letters on computer or other devices.