Some people thinks that printed books are no longer necsessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electrically. Others think that printed books still play importance roles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People differ greatly in their views as to whether or not the traditional paper books will be still of great necessity when the enormous popularity of electronic equipment such as iphone and ipad keeps on soaring. While I agree that e-books are associated with some benefits, I contend that printed books could never be substituted because of their unique merits.

On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons accounting for the advantages of e-reading. Seen from the positive aspects, the writings stored electrically may be more attractive than traditional ones. This is because not only do e-books provide words, illustrations, pictures that traditional books have, but they also add sounds, moving images and cartoons that printed books cannot offer. Another benefit of e-books is that they can be eco-friendly. A clear explanation of this is that less paper will be needed in the production process and electronic libraries can save more space.

What I want to rebut, however, is that the immense value of printed books cannot be ignored. The primary reason is that although it is easy to acquire and utilize (get and use) e-books, it is far from for millions of people to change their deeply-rooted habits of reading paper books. More precisely, numerous people insist on (keep-continue) perusing paper books in a traditional way because they can take note in the blank of a page. In addition, unlike using e-books which is just a sort of fast-food reading, traditional reading enables people to have in-depth thinking. Readers, as a consequence, may enhance their literacy.

In conclusion, it is my view that although I concede that using electric books is advantageous in some ways such as their attraction and being eco-friendly, I am firmly convinced that traditional books will not vanish/disappear solely due to e-reading because of having many people familiarising with traditional reading method and helping readers have critical thought. I predict that due to that printed books and e-reading are not mutually exclusive, both of them will co-exist in the near future.