Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often agreed that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It is widely acknowledged that crime is a perennial problem that all societies face. Because of this, how to deter people especially teenagers from involving in illegal actions is always a topic of interest. Some people believe that ex-prisoners who have become normal and productive members of the societies are the best person to speak to young people and this may discourage them from breaking the law. From my perspective, I completely agree with this view.

Teenagers are more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak from experience. This means that ex-offenders can tell young people how they became involved in crimes and what are the dangers of criminal lifestyle. They can also dispel any ideas that teenagers may have about criminals leading glamorous lives. While adolescents are always indifferent to the guidance of older people, I imagine that most of them would be extremely keen to hear the stories of ex – offenders. The vivid and shocking nature of these stories is likely to have powerful impact on young people.

Alternatives to using reformed criminals to educate students about crimes would be much less effective. One option is that police officers could come to schools and talk to teenagers. However, this measure is only useful in informing teens about the consequences of crimes as young people are reluctant to take advice from figures of authorities. Another measure is for teachers to tell teenagers about unlawful acts, but I doubt that students would see teachers as credible sources of information about this topic. Finally, education films may be informative, but students have no opportunities to interact or make questions. In fact, although these methods have been carried out for years, they haven’t produced desired results.

In conclusion, although there are a number of measures to prevent teenagers from breaking the law, it seems to me that letting ex-prisoners to share their own experience may exert great influence on teenagers.