Nowadays, as some successful people do not appreciate the theoretical knowledge they have obtained from college, there is a debate about whether theoretical knowledge is valuable or not.In my opinion, it plays an important role in enhancing our expertise and accelerating our learning abilities.

To begin with, there is no doubt that handling the theoretical knowledge is the foundation of learning a subject. Without studying the basic theory, we are unable to understand how everything works in our professional field, as we don’t have a concept of the whole system. In that case, the follow-up study may become very fragmented and it may be difficult to advance very far. For instance, someone who doesn’t understand addition and subtraction would find it impossible to deal with complex algebra.

Besides, having a good command of theoretical knowledge can also promote our efficiency of doing anything. While obtaining our professional knowledge, we can also learn the method of regularly connecting new things with the basic theory we have already learned, which helps a lot in achieving mastery through a comprehensive study of the subject. The key point is the logic of breaking down complex questions into smaller ones, until we can solve them with ease. Perhaps it doesn’t make us successful straightly, but once we’ve grasped this organized methodology, we will find it’s helpful in many different conditions.

On conclusion, theoretical knowledge can support to accelerate one’s expertise as well as the integrative competence, so it’s necessary to learn them well.