Some say that sports play an important role in society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views.

Sporting events have played pivotal roles in communities around the world throughout history. While some people claim that the practice of sports only brings recreational values, I personally believe that sport is far more than a form of entertainment.

First of all, the sport has always been an exercise to foster individual physical and mental development. For example, active people tend to have lower rates of diabetes and high blood pressure. Exercising regularly through sports programs could contribute to better heart and lung function. Besides, athletes are likely to have lower body mass indexes, but non-athlete participants will still benefit from building muscle and burning calories. Additionally, physical activity has been shown to have a positive influence on metal mental well being and some mental illnesses. Furthermore, physical training can be used in treatment for depression.

Physical activities like sports, whether for recreational professional or educational purposed purposes, are not merely about fitness or victory; above all, they are an essential building block of a prosperous and healthy society. Much like a country is the educational system, media, or political and social movements, sporting events bring disparate people together by strengthening ties and celebrating the common ideals of fairness, sacrifice, and hope. Sports in society remind us that following prescribed rules does not have to be boring and we must always carve out a place for fun in our lives. Moreover, watching and playing sports provide ways to escape the stress of our daily lives and come together as a community. Hosting sporting events can boost tourism and revenue for a city. As a result, sports in society can even influence our understanding of gender roles and socio-economic issues, and they can help frame the city.

In conclusion, although some people believe that sports are merely a leisure activity, I suppose support that sports are vital in society due to their advantages to people in terms of entertainment and finance.