Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for their study?

In an era where practical skills are gaining more and more attention from job seekers and graduates, there exists a trend of taking a gap year before entering universities. This essay attempts to provide the pros and cons that this trend might have on highschool-graduates.

On the one hand, youngsters can make great use of their gap year when it comes to personal development. Specifically, spending a year traveling or working would grant young guns a great deal of insight into different cultures. Therefore, they can get exposed to a variety of distinctive mindsets. In an era where global citizenship is highly appreciated, it is of paramount importance that an individual is accustomed to a wide range of different cultures. Moreover, juveniles who go on a gap year can participate in activities and training processes that would grant them experience and a plethora of soft skills that would be of great benefit for their lifetime of work in the future.

On the other hand, spending a year travelling or working can pose great threats to graduates, mainly concerning their intellectual performance. Firstly, going on a gap year means falling back behind peers of the same age. As a matter of fact, there is fear that gap year takers would face a great deal of stress witnessing their friends proceeding onto higher levels in their academic route. Most importantly, taking a gap year entails an individual of a detailed plan that can not be entirely assured due to unexpected occasions. By this, I mean graduates, before engaging in a gap year, would have to list out a number of activities they would take part in. However, with the existence of abrupt events like Covid-19, the future of gap year takers is unforeseeable, preventing young guns from participating in activities that they had planned earlier.

In the light of the aforementioned discussion, spending a certain period of time on traveling and working brings youngsters plenty of merits regarding their personal development. However, it also poses great threats to their academic progress as well as being a disruption in their plan. With that being stated, decisions must be carefully made when considering a gap year.