Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development?

A phone is a useful device for our day to day life. Although its usage seems important in a school environment, some schools have decided to ban it. In the following writeup I will explain why I conceive restricting smartphone usage in schools as a positive development by giving two reasons to support my viewpoint..

First, restricting phones increases students' focus on the course and their learning. Their attention span is no longer splitted into their phone and the lessons. Research shows that it takes an average of 25 minutes to become focused on a subject after shifting attention to another topic. In a classroom where students are allowed to use their phone , instead of focusing on learning their lessons, they are distracted with a wide range of notifications coming from their devices such as emails, and social media notifications. This can have negative effects in the future because the student can keep this behaviour in their working environments and this can affect their productivity in future.

Phone usage should be restricted to prevent distractions in the classroom in order to prepare learners for their future careers.

Second, this restriction during recreational time will increase student social awareness. This will help them to build strong relationships with their mates. Instead of always scrolling on their phone during a face to face conversation, students will focus on the ongoing dialogue and consequently their relationship building skill will improve. This attitude will help them in their day to day lives because they will be more social and this can have a huge impact in their wellbeing and mental health.

To sum up , in the following write up I explained why banning phone usage in school is a positive development. I talked about which impact the ban can have on student concentration in class, and on their sociability at school and in life in general.