Some schools require each student to participate in an organized school sport chosen by the students. People at these schools argue that athletics is an important part of the educational experience and that there should be a rule requiring participation. Others argue that students should be free to decide whether or not they wish to participate in school sports.

All students are required to opt and enrol to sports organization at some schools. While some people advocate that the practicing of sports supposed to be mandatory primarily because physical activities have a relevant importance role on education, others support the idea that students should be allowed to choose if they are willing to participate to sports activities or not. From my perspective, physical education should not be optional thanks to the fact that it brings many benefits to students as well as it is considered a form of education, for this reason it should not be neglected by the academic word.

Perhaps, due to the fact that physical activities and sports are not something pleasant at the very beginning, as well as it requires patience and practice until it becomes enjoyable, many students argue that it is not appealing and unnecessary. However, the school role is to promote and foster different sorts of skills; that includes physical education. It is widely known that sports improve the health of body in numerous ways. For instance, humans’ brains absorb virtually 30% more oxygen during sports activities, comparing to when body remains in rest. This high oxygenation rate expands brain capacity in several aspects, including memorizing knowledge as well as ability to link information in order to provide accurate solutions.

Teachers have carried out a research at high schools to measure the effect of sports in students learning capacity. It was consisted in dividing students in two halves, one half had practiced physical activity for 30 minutes, while other half had watched TV for the same amount of time. After that, they were given a puzzle to complete. The group who had practicing sports achieved a significant higher score that the other group.

In conclusion, I believe that, conjointly with other disciplines that are no alluring but necessary to academic programmes, sports practice should not be optional to students. While I agree that is not something pleasurable, especially right from the start, I support that it is genuine worthwhile on long term.