Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Employers argue that they should be entitled to communicate with their employees anytime, including holiday breaks or vacation. From my point of view, the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. While the possibility to contact staff after work hours can bring evident benefits to the company, it can also bring undeniable withdrawal.

On the one hand, managers who are in charge of a teams which workers are possible to be accessed after shift hours, have great potential to handle and solve minor issues before become a real problem. In addition, it has proven that the reliance on staff who are reachable all the time, substantially boosts the confidence of their manager leading to outstanding success.

On the other hand, the chance of being contacted by supervisor out of work hours can trigger serious drawback primarily because this attitude conveys to employees the idea that their private lives are less important than their professional lives. Also, it can be interpreted for some people that if managers are not able to handle some situations by their own, they are not prepared to occupy such position.

In conclusion, even though there are benefits allowing employees to contact their crew out of work hours, I believe the advantages are eclipsed by the disadvantages due to the fact that the acceptance and likelihood to consume employees’ leisure time minimize the importance of personal life becoming counterproductive to company as a whole in long term.