In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proliferation of young criminals, especially those who committed unacceptable crimes has concerned politicians profoundly. Therefore, some people suggest that these teenagers should receive the same punishment as adult criminals. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion as there are potential felonies arising from some adolescent offenders, however, mental incompletion is still a major factor in these cases.

In some cases, the brutal behaviour of youngsters does not outburst in seconds but is the result of a series of thoughts and intentions. Moreover, in spite of their tender age, worryingly, some children seem to develop a violent perspective on life and human as a result of their childhood trauma (parental divorce, and family violence, to name but a few) or their mental disorders like sociopath. For these reasons, if the authority does not apply any serious measures, there will be a likelihood of future crimes as these children get older. Take the murder of James Bulger as an example, in this situation, the two murderers fully understood the consequence of their actions and even after years of imprisonment, one of them still commit illegal acts.

On the other hand, identical approaches toward mature and young lawbreakers are unfair because mental incompletion is the cause of most crimes committed by children. Given that until the age of 18, children necessitate proper training, guidance and experience to form the right awareness of the world around them, therefore, any illegal behaviour during this period is mainly the result of an incomprehensive mind. Additionally, applying less serious punishment for children would facilitate the positive changing of their personalities as they don’t have to face severe judgement as adults and conceive that change is still possible. Frank Abagnale is a telling example of this as despite causing major losses for American banks, this young financial criminal was allowed and guided by the FBI to serve justice and society.

In some circumstances, serious punishment for young criminals is necessary when the offender shows no sign of regret or improvement. However, in most cases, the authority should apply gentler measures to give these lawbreakers opportunities to atone for their mistakes and become better people.