In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment.

To what extend do you agree ?

There is an increasing number of juvenile offenders in many countries. Some people claim that under-aged criminal participating in major illegal activities should be punished as adults. However, my firm conviction is instead of basing on age, judge should impose punishment by considering the motive for crime.

Imposing adult punishment on teenage criminals who commit major crimes contribute greatly to juvenile offender rate reduction. Harsh sanctions, which are fit the crime, could deter other adolescents from engaging illegal activities. They may think twice before turning to a career of crime because of the fear of severe punishment. Therefore, teenage criminal rate could decrease. A perfect instance for this is Le Van Luyen, who was a under-eighteen premeditated murderer and burglar in Vietnam, received capital punishment. And a long time span after that, there were very few major crimes committed by teenagers.

Nevertheless, teenage is a sophisticated and sensitive age, which needs sympathy and tactful treatment. Several adolescents have to receive unpremeditated murder prison sentence due to their protection against children abuse. Numerous unprivileged kids around the globe chose to be rule-breakers as a way of making a living. The rate of children committing minor crimes such as shoplifting or pick pocketing for the purpose of getting food and money to survive is soaring every single day. These illegal activities enforce serious consequences in their development of conscience and lead to worse and major crimes like burglary or drug trafficking in order to earn easy money. Therefore, this kind of teenage criminals should be put on probation and provided education and vocational training instead of being imprisoned as adult criminals.

In conclusion, under-aged criminals have to receive the punishment fit to the crime. Basing on the motive for crime, the sanctions can be harsh and severe as adult or can be a psychology treatment and provide basic skills to ensure they will be normal and valuable people in the future.