Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

it has been proposed by some people that, youth should take a break before proceeding to university after finishing school by engaging themselves in a form of employment for a number of years.this has both benefits and drawbacks and these shall be dealt with in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some benefits to the youth of taking a break before commencing university studies .Firstly, when the youth get involved in employment, this can make them a responsible young adult as they adhere to the expectations of that particular job rules and regulations. For example, they are taught work ethics such as punctuality and meeting of deadlines, this will prepare them to be responsible members of any society in future. Secondly, the money that they shall earn will aid them to cover tertiary expenses and this will be a relief to the parents. For instance, they can raise their pocket-money for food whilst they are at university or sometimes they can contribute towards their tuition fees.

On the other hand, starting off with work before attending university has some drawbacks for the young people. To begin with, there is a danger of losing interest in pursuing the university education once the youth begin by getting employment, as they end up enjoying the new job. this will make them change their mind and would not want to get a formal qualification as they would be earning a reasonable income and are comfortable with it. The other negative impact of working before gaining tertiary education is that the young persons may decide to change their planned career and want to do something else totally different from what they had passion for. when they do this, it means they are going to be doing a course that they really did not want to do. this will then mean that getting the place at the university could be a problem since their entry subjects might not be meeting the requirements and this will lead to depression.

In conclusion, there are both positive and negative effects of taking a gap year between school and university for young people and therefore a thorough consideration should be made before taking a decision on this.