Some suggest that young people take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Nowadays, it is believed by several persons that working over the period after school and before going to university is useful for adolescences. Although, I think that it is a great way of acquiring practical knowledges and particular amount of money, but there also may be certain risks leading to some problems.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of getting a job in an early age. Firstly, it is a financial self-sufficiency that the young are able to provide their needs properly without help of their parents such as food, rent, leisure time costs etc. Secondly, taking up a job forms particular skills and habits including responsibility and time management which are essential factors for their future academic and daily life. At last, it is a career development that working students are one step ahead from their peers.

On the other hand, it is witnessed a few obvious disadvantages that one of them is the generation gap. So that, students who worked after school and entered the university after a while might be forced to study with the lower-aged students who began to tertiary education just after graduating school. Moreover, a brake after school can lead to losing some abilities such as reading, writing etc. which are taught at schools and as a result the former students may not show interest toward higher education.

As a conclusion, taking up a job between school and university has a lot of benefits for youths. However, too much break may discourage them to restart. Thus, in my opinion getting a job for a while before going to university is beneficial under the conditions of keeping themselves in touch with the studies.