Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Some intellectuals from the education field reckon that learners can take advantage of participating in overseas programs. Despite those programs’ disadvantages, I believe that this practice has effective merits that profoundly outweigh.

On the one hand, the obvious challenge of studying abroad for adolescents is the culture shock and the expensiveness of various exchange programs. An international exchange program is likely to be more expensive than a domestic course. This can be elaborated by the fact that students from developing nations would find it is unaffordable and inaccessible to follow an educational program in first-world countries. To share the financial burden on their family, they have to work part-time jobs and it might affect the students’ academic results. Secondly, even with preparation and knowledge about the new environment, adolescents could still experience cultural dissimilarities ranging from food, languages, lifestyle, and so on. For example, students from Asian countries seem unable to be in harmony with codes of behavior set by Europeans and vice versa. This, consequently, would make them fall behind with their studies.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than the aforementioned disadvantages. Participating in an international network, students would have an attractive resume which is valuable for them in the years to come. By working in foreign organizations, they will gain practical experience that makes their profile more competitive. Another reason is that studying abroad also encourages independence for teenagers. As a consequence, this will develop independent thinking and decision-making skill, which are useful for their future. Additionally, after finishing the program, they can develop their social skills by sharing their experiences with other exchange students and get a deeper insight into the culture by immersing themselves in the local community.

In conclusion, although international exchange for school students might give them hurdles to face in adapting to the new culture, I would maintain that this trend has more benefits therefore teenagers should be encouraged to participate in these programs.