Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that physical fitness is the key to success in sports, while others claiming that mental toughness is the most important factor in attaining sporting powers. In my opinion, both strengths are equally important and mutually exclusive.

On the one hand, it is commonly agreed that physical strength is the predominant component to achieve the standard requirement in sports. Most sportspeople are required to be physically fit so that they are able to perform physically challenging actions commonly found in the majority of sports. Also, athletes obviously should at least have companionable physical strength, if they want to beat other competitors. For example, a runner with short legs could not win a race against his long-legged opponents, and athletes competing in weightlifting are divided into different groups according to their weight because they cannot beat other candidates who are much heavier.

On the other hand, a strong mentality is also essential for any professionals to be successful. Pressure can get to the best sports stars and mental training is therefore a vital skill to possess. Elite athletes such as Roger Federer or Lionel Messi are perfect examples of players who remain claim and confident regardless of situations. They also point out that knowing that your brain will start to tell you that you’re tired and that you want to quit is the first hurdle, but once you overcome the initial fear response, you are in a guaranteed pathway to success. In addition, mental powers are demanded to endure the brutal training regimes necessary for modern athletes, and these are responsible for at least part of the physical capabilities that they develop.

In conclusion, it is impossible to say whether physical or mental strength is more important for sportspeople because they are both utterly indispensable.