Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people believe that museums and art galleries should focus on local history and culture rather than international works. While I agree that we should not ignore the importance of other countries’ art and history, I believe that some museums should solely focus on outlining the cultural aspects and artworks of the country.

On the one hand, showing international works of art can bring benefits in some ways. Firstly, it can offer local residents a chance to be exposed to artworks and artifacts from foreign lands and bring them a new vision of the world from historical and cultural aspects. For example, some people have already had several opportunities to learn a lot about their country’s traditions and history. Thus, they show a keen interest to gain knowledge of the culture of other countries that they cannot afford to visit and do not already have knowledge of and these exhibitions can absolutely meet those needs. In addition to this, when exhibitions display the history of a foreign country, they can make a financial contribution to a country’s economy. The concept of the museum in the modern era has changed to a great extent which can bring lots of profit by showing extraordinary masterpieces around the world.

One the other hand, there are several advantages of exhibition rooms: pay attention to local artworks. Artifacts and works of national value should be given priority as they contribute to the conservation of traditional culture and customs. Each culture has its own clothing, music, visual art, storytelling traditions, and many more unique characteristics and there are many minority ethnic groups that are in grave danger of losing their folklore nowadays. To convey these aspects in museums and galleries will help to preserve their folk tradition and the cultural diversity of a nation. Additionally, this action could spark a stronger sense of nationalism. For example, historical objects show residents the periods of glory and decline that their forefathers or predecessors experienced, which increase patriotism and national pride in the locals’ minds.

In conclusion, the primary goal of museums and galleries is to spread knowledge and wander far and wide. Therefore, my suggestion is that local artifacts and works should be prioritized, while those of other nations can still be exhibited but in separate museums and galleries. One does not necessarily diminish the necessity and usefulness of another category.