Some think that all entertaining TV programmes should educate people about the importance of social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that every citizen should acknowledge social problems and current affairs from different means. To this end, some people claim that those issues should be embraced in every TV programme with recreational contents. From my point of view, although this is justifiable to some extent, I am of the opinion that it should not be obligatory for all TV shows to include social problems.

Admittedly, it can be denied that television’s entertaining programmes can provide a fertile ground for educating and informing people about social issues. To a greater or lesser extent, it is obvious that there should be certain meaningful values of every TV show, one of which can be to assist people with the acquisition of current affairs. As these types of shows and channels attract astronomical numbers of viewers, the spread of social affairs can be more ubiquitous and constructive. Hence, people can have better understanding about their social fabrics, the problems they are confronting and the like. This can lead to a better society with justices, impartiality and well-informed citizens.

However, there are glaring reasons why I believe the education of social issues should not be mandatorily conveyed through entertaining TV programmes. Since most of the social problems imply heavy contents, they are not in line with the flow and overall mood of recreational shows of fun and intriguing time. Furthermore, those social sections may bring disincentives to the viewers as they only come to entertaining programmes to unwind and find peace of mind, not to be educated about current affairs. Take Korea's Running Man show, after including contents about politics and military, the percentages of its watchers have decreased threefold. On a long run, this will take its toll on the profit of the Tv station and the programmes themself.

In conclusion, while the involvement of social issues in TV programmes is beneficial to some extent, I am convinced that it is not a one-size-fit-all to every entertaining shows as it interrupts the mood of the programmes as well as hinders viewers’ interest.