Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Retired people have been increasing in numbers, nowadays. This stage of life is believed to be given support financially by the government, however, there are others who think that they need to finance their needs and should not expect any government assistance. Both of these views need to be discussed further as I believed that these retired individuals are important members of the society and should be given support from authorities for as long as they need them.

Many of the retired people are receiving pensiones from their previous work in different sectors that offered insurance policy. This financial support sometimes comes from the government’s insurance system if they had worked for the government sector such as public teachers, soldiers, and other government office employees. In this regard, it is axiomatic that the government should support retired people because they had rendered service for a period of time.

Meanwhile, there are retired people who were not able to establish a financial security at their old age. These are the ones who worked minneal jobs, or unfit to work at all. In this case, there are government authorities who makes sure that these individuals are taken care under a social service unit. <Thus,> Rendering care to these people is a government responsibilty inorder to build a humane society.

However, a part of the society is not keen on the idea of government helping the retired ones. This is due to the fact that some of them are still physically and mentally able to work. Others also claim that their families, especially children should take responsibility in financing their needs. For instance, in the Filipino culture, elderly are well supported by their family members and some children even include them in their paid insurances, such as medical care.

All these being said, government needs to allocate budget for social services to retired persons who do not have any support from private sectors or their own families. These retired members of the society have rendered in their own way a service to their nation and thus should be respected and supported in their needs.