People today generally have better lives than people in the past did.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Life in the past and today were totally different. There are people who claim that the living conditions, many years ago was better than what people have today. This claim could be argued because there are so many advancements developed today that have made life more comfortable than the past.

Undoubtedly, life in the past had its own beauty. One thing was their lives were simpler because of fewer distractions. There was no internet and people really establish connections with each other in the present. For instance, Facebook and other social media sites were non-existent and people make friends with people in their locality. Second thing, in the past, there was less traffic, overpopulated cities, and less pollution. The cities were not congested because there was fewer people and urbanization was not yet popular. According to articles about life in the past, the majority of citizens stay in their rural areas or hometowns because of lack of transportation facilities, thus overcrowding and traffic congestion were not even considered problems.

However, despite the charm of old living, it had posed major difficulties to the citizenry. The old times had no efficient forms of transportation and communication. For instance, traveling from provincial lands to cities took days via buses or trains. Also, people had to use snail mails to communicate with relatives or friends who are living far. These problems are no longer existent in the twenty-first century because of technological advancements and the invention of the internet.

Today, life is more enjoyable to live than in the past. The development of technology raised living conditions by making it easier and faster. There is much equipment invented in order for people to have time to do activities they enjoy or develop other useful skills. One example is the use of electrical home appliances, these items consume less time and effort to perform household chores, such as vacuum and washing machines. Subsequently, with less time on these chores, family members can have time to bond and children can have more parental attention. Another advantage of living in the present is the increased availability of information and fast communication. These advancements had changed the shape of different lives of people into better ones. Many people have lifted themselves out of poverty, and others have found a more positive sense in their well-being.

Overall, it cannot be denied that there would always be people who would prefer to live life like in the past than in the present. However, it cannot be denied that the tremendous positive shift in living conditions makes the present more enjoyable to live.