In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many words of encouragement are constantly given to children by adults and the media. In some societies, the most common message is to try hard in order to reach any goals in life. This statement has positive and negative effects on children if followed and lived by.

Undoubtedly, the mindset that anything can be achieved if one tries hard is positive encouragement for children. With this message, young people can be hardworking and persevering in their own endeavors. Students in school, for instance, who focused on their studies and did their homework were able to graduate. They understood that if they poured in effort in their studies, they can finish it. Another is that, with this message, children can be more adaptive and resilient. If at some point in their early life they failed, such as in sports or academics, they would try harder again. With the principle that was inculcated in them, they can live with the rigors of life.

However, there may be drawbacks to this message to young minds. The fact that not all things in life can be achieved under certain limiting circumstances. For example, children may work too hard to be a social media influencer, however, with the internet being saturated with many people all over the globe, it may be difficult for them to gain popularity in the area. Sometimes, there is also a lot of competition with peers that can lead other inferior children to give up on their chosen feat. At some point, it leads to frustration and thus becomes an emotional burden that is carried by a child as he or she grows up.

Truly, parents and the media need to be careful in sending this message to young individuals. It is best to give this form of encouragement with guidance and explanation along the way. Most importantly, when these words do not happen in reality, children should be reminded that there are many possibilities in other fields or maybe there is only a little delay in reaching their goals.

To conclude, trying hard to reach one’s goal has a positive effect on the words of children but it could also be imposed too much unto them that can eventually lead to frustrations. Thus it is best to constantly guide young people along the way in order for them to understand the real essence of achievement.