Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In the modern era, there has been considerable controversy whether the governments should provide subsidies for the retired or not. Whilst an army of individuals believe that there are numerous desirable consequences exerted from this tendency, I would argue that the elderly are capable of ensuring their well-being.

On the one hand, providing retired individuals with monetary support can be inessential and even bring about some adverse impacts. Evidently, it is the elderly that possess adequate experience and skills to manage their finances effectively. In fact, during the process of working, they can put aside enough money to cover the living expenses and make pragmatic plans for future expenditure; therefore, they can lead a comfortable life despite the small amount of pension and avoid being broke. Moreover, should there are authorities to support the seniors financially, some nations, especially the developing ones, will have to shoulder significant burden of debt from the industrialized countries. Instead, they should invest their spending on top priorities namely economy and education to thrive.

On the other hand, subsidies from the governments can derive benefits on both individual and societal levels. It is beyond doubt that the retired people are unable to make ends meet with the tiny amount of monthly pension. For example, in some Asian nations, the old-age groups only receive one tenth of the salaries earned while working; thus, they can not afford increasing living expenses. To make the matters worse, the elderly, whose health can be exacerbated in correlation with age, struggle to pay for the modern healthcare system that is extremely exorbitant; therefore, the need for governments’ financial support is plausible. Furthermore, helping the older generations with financial hardship is a feasible method to compensate for their long-life commitment and contribution to society. In addition to the amount of money the retired receive each month, health insurance is necessary to tackle such predicament. This method can also reflect the well-being of the citizens and the social welfare of one nation.

In conclusion, despite certain merits, I believe the tendency of providing the seniors subsidies after retirement can be redundant and adverse since the old individuals have the ability to manage their spending wisely to have lives of high quality.