Some think that people are responsible for their happiness. Others feel that happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Happiness is currently a subject of significant consideration. Opinions are divergent on whether external factors contribute to how delighted one may feel or whether one should take accountability for one's contentment. Although each viewpoint has its own justifications, from my perspective, the latter statement is more equitable.

On the one hand, granted, extrinsic factors, like monetary issues, play a pivotal role in determining one’s happiness level. Materialistic issues are attributed to the volume of happiness one may experience. Fulfillment cannot be achieved unless people's basic needs for food, shelter, or other necessities, all of which require materialistic exchanges, have been satisfied. Research conducted by Cornell University on the happiness of people from various social backgrounds, for example, has shown that those with higher social status, especially those with substantial annual incomes reported to be more delightful compared to those struggling to meet their basic needs. The rationale for this is that they lead a more well-rounded life with adequate supplies, especially medical and entertainment-purpose ones, assisting them in almost every aspect of life.

However, some, including myself, would contend that each individual takes responsibility for their own fulfillment. People’s inner thoughts determine what is profoundly genuine happiness. The practice of mindfulness can render one more enjoyable in one particular circumstance, altering optimistic attitudes and being a means to seek satisfaction. By embracing this approach, people are inclined to alleviate thoughtless or spontaneous thinking after which reach a state of tranquility and meditation. This can be evidenced that monks, who are practitioners of meditation, try to abolish negative thoughts and seek fulfillment even when the situation in which they are is filled with pessimism.

In conclusion, admittedly, both perspectives of the discussion are justifiable; however, I maintain that each person should be accountable for their contentment considering that they take full control of their mindset. Moreover, shifting their perception of fulfillment might help one’s life become more enjoyable.