Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the affordability and easy accessibility of modern technology, human's lifestyles have witnessed a striking change from conventional to more modernized. On a global scale, workers are currently leading a work-from-home lifestyle while more students started getting access to online teaching. From my perspective, this is undoubtedly a beneficial development despite some minor drawbacks.

Granted, social communication can be restricted in light of little interaction with others. People started to lead an online lifestyle which allows them to pursue their work and education from a strikingly far distance. This has become a reluctance for both young and older generations to have face-to-face communication with their beloved ones, especially those not living in their contact area. However, people should acknowledge how technology has been enhanced to satisfy the ever-increasing demand for communication. There have been a great number of online platforms established assisting people in staying in touch with their friends and co-workers from other places. For example, Meta Platforms launched a project called Messengers that creates a video-conferencing and wireless-connecting application allowing users to text and phone their acquaintances with the help of internet connections.

Another advantage of this phenomenon is that more and more people can spend time on other activities. Since technology helps reduce the downtime and inefficacy of commuting, people can spare some time for their personally favorable activities. They, for instance, spend more time gardening and drawing, according to the latest research of Harvard University. Not only is it the case for the two abovementioned activities, but an elevated number of families also schedule more activities to bond their relationship. Moreover, another benefit is the reduction in institutional fees, which has become a merit for students of all levels of education. Courses from the Internet provide platforms with much lower prices because of the reduction in costs for additional aspects, such as hiring a wide range of professionals. This can be evidenced that more schools have been establishing pre-recorded videos of teachers teaching and publishing on their designated platforms. Therefore, a considerable amount of money spent on staff recruitment gradually lowered after the shift to online learning methods.

In conclusion, although there are some minimal downsides of cyber lifestyle, there are various benefits related to this phenomenon, ranging from the increasing time for personally favorite activities to the broader accessibility of education due to reduced fees of learning.