Some think raising unhealthy foods' price can solve a problem of overweight. Agree/disagree?

There could be said to be an increasing number of individuals who are becoming obese. Recent policy decisions have proposed that a price hike on fattening foods be implemented in order to dissuade people from consuming them and thereby curbing the obesity epidemic. I personally think that while this measure might help, it would not be nearly as effective as other measures such as portion control.

Whilst there is no doubt in my mind that making fattening sugary foods more expensive would certainly curb the rise in obesity, it is still uncertain that it would necessarily be as effective as we might expect due to the price inelasticity of fast food products. Some might state the law of supply and demand as a reason why we might expect sugary food consumption to decrease when prices rise, but behavioral economics might propose that people would be more than eager to hand over more money for the fattening foods that they enjoy. This is why other addictive substances such as cigarettes, for example, have also been shown to be somewhat immune to price increases.

Furthermore, a larger issue may actually be portion control, as having larger portions in each meal could actually encourage people to eat more. Particularly in fast food chains, food portions are exorbitantly large leading to each meal being calorically higher than normal meals. If portions are decreased for every meal, even if the price is lowered, it could lead to people consuming less calories per meal and thus becoming less obese. Studies have shown that by making bowls smaller, for example, individuals also consume less food. If governments apply this method to fast food restaurants, it could potentially decrease obesity rates more effectively than price hikes could.

Overall, I argue that whilst increasing the price of fattening foods might help to a degree, I argue that other options such as portion control might be more effective.