Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people's opinion differs as to whether Internet-based courses should be provided. While some state that this form of teaching brings several drawbacks, I do believe that this is an optimistic development.

The main reason is that online courses helping students to study more flexibly and easily. Giving the first reason, Internet-based learning allows people to study whenever and wherever they want without considering time and distance, which reinforces their self-study abilities. Learners, for instance, gaining the ability to review these lectures over again until they have a good grasp of them. Giving another reason, this teaching approach is possible for people to absorb knowledge better than the traditional one. Firstly, online course is still an interactive learning method, it is just as flexible for teachers to deliver online lessons as it was in the traditional one. Secondly, the pace of knowledge transmission is slower, resulting in better comprehension for students, especially those falling behind their studies in the days before Internet-based learning.

Providing online courses is not only a better study approach but also offers more learning opportunities for people regardless of their knowledge, age, and financial status. Firstly, those lacking financial conditions can have a chance to engage in an online class with reduced cost or even free. Taking the poor as an example, they can enroll in some courses from top-tier institutions such as Oxford, Harvard, and Cambridge. In addition, those who have distance difficulty but are willing to study abroad can pursue higher education as well. Moreover, because of the indirect exchange through e-messages, students who have difficulties with face-to-face interaction will feel less afraid to ask for or discuss lessons with their teachers and classmates.

In conclusion, offering an online class is still a topic of debate. With these aforementioned reasons, I subscribed to the view that its development could be worth expecting.