Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that online courses are going viral in several universities and colleges nowadays.While i accept that internet-based learning can sometimes have some negative impacts, i believe that they are more likely to have positive effects.

On the one hand,there are several influences in studying via the internet.Firstly,student is less direct face-to-face with their teacher and will have to rely on written forms of communication.Because when having courses on the internet ,they will approach computer on smart phone to access it and watch lectures which were uploaded by teachers.Similarly , students who study online may not have opportunities to contact with other students,this could affects on support in study process.A good example for this is that traditional courses help students discuss their subjects in classroom or over coffees after lessons.However,online learners will be restricted by chatting through website forum areas.Secondly,online courses also make students lack of motivation and element of competition when they only stay at home and sit in front of computer to gain knowledge. It is not easy for them to concentrate on lectures and interact directly that face-to-face groups can bring.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benifits are outweighted by the drawbacks.Courses on the internet are the great tools in order that students could study in flexible ways whenever and wherever is convenient which is a need for students to control and manage with their workload.In addition, fees in school will be reduced including material facilities ,electricity and water money,which could diminish finacial burden in each families when they have childrens in school ages .Furthermore,online courses also creat chances for people ,regardless of age,location and background.For instance, my uncle is 65 years old and is living in other country but he also has participated ielts courses to improve his language level by registing an account on the english website.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of are more significant than the disadvantages .